VILLA HISTORY

bandb palu history

"A warm family experience with delightful innkeepers and their family but privacy when needed or desired."

The villa, of which we have a part, has the typical square plan with courtyard and has a small church dedicated to St. Anthony of Padova in its south eastern corner. The date at its entrance and on its font is 1501 and, as this date is thought to be authentic.

The complex was built on reclaimed land (“Palu is a local dialect word for marshland) at a time when the noble families felt safe enough, under the relatively prosperous and peaceful times of the Venetian Republic, to build on low-lying ground rather than living in hilltop castles. The site was nevertheless defensible in its plan, with all exits gated and walls that were thick with small windows.

The most famous inhabitant was Count Fileno Cosma Spolverini who was by any standards remembered as a pretty despicable tyrant guilty of numerous murders, using such methods, so the story goes, as dispatching his enemies through a trap-door in the well tower to their deaths on sharpened iron spikes.

The original house grew up around a dovecot tower and was developed over different periods. The current main gates are eighteenth century and the façade at its entrance has many neoclassical late eighteenth century features. The central courtyard, where our visitors park, was until recently the threshing square and the courtyard still had livestock in the stalls and sheds when we moved in 15 years ago.

Count Fileno’s tower is still here with its defensive arrow slits and the villa remains to this day in the middle of the quiet and peaceful valley that has always provided it, and the local villages, with food and wine.